About Us

Telligen is the Quality Innovation Network-Quality Improvement Organization (QIN-QIO) for Colorado, Illinois, and Iowa. The QIN-QIO program helps the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) implement key elements of the Department of Health and Human Services’ National Quality Strategy and federal healthcare reform efforts. To achieve national quality goals, the Telligen QIN-QIO works in partnership with patients, providers and practitioners across organizations and care settings.

Our Mission

Telligen’s mission as a QIN-QIO is to improve the effectiveness, efficiency and value of services delivered to people with Medicare through healthcare quality improvement initiatives that:
•    Increase patient safety.
•    Make communities healthier.
•    Better coordinate post-hospital care.
•    Improve healthcare quality.


Sue Stefan, Executive Director
Sue Stefan, DNP, MBA, MSN, CPHQ, RN, is the executive director for the Telligen QIN-QIO.  With more than 25 years of experience as an executive, consultant and educator leading quality improvement initiatives for large healthcare systems and academic medical centers, Sue provides strategic direction for the Telligen QIN-QIO and represents Telligen in partner and stakeholder collaborations. Sue holds a doctorate in nursing practice from Rush University, master’s degrees in business administration and nursing administration and a bachelor’s degree in nursing from the University of Illinois Chicago, and is a Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality through the National Association for Healthcare Quality.
W. Michael Boyson, Colorado State Program Director
Michael Boyson, MHA, is the state program director for the Telligen QIN-QIO team in Colorado, supervising QIN-QIO initiatives and operations throughout the state and overseeing larger cross-state projects. Michael has worked with Telligen and other Colorado organizations for more than 30 years to help inform healthcare policy, promote collaboration and support better access to healthcare. Michael holds a master’s degree in health administration from Loma Linda University and a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Walla Walla University. He is certified in Lean Six Sigma and is a certified health technology specialist through the American Health Information Management Association.
Tracey Durns, Illinois State Program Director
Tracey Durns, MBA, is the state program director for the Telligen QIN-QIO team in Illinois, coordinating efforts with providers and communities across the region on data-driven quality improvement initiatives. Tracey oversees the collaboration of the state-wide initiatives as well as regional efforts to increase awareness of the Quality Payment Program. Prior to her role as director, she served as a senior quality improvement facilitator at Telligen with the nursing home care team, where her work included educating facilities on quality measures and facilitating their quality improvement processes. Tracey has over 20 years of experience in long-term care, focusing her work on assisting providers with implementation of culture change and person-centered care. Prior to joining Telligen in 2009, her work included establishing policy and procedures in accordance with state and federal regulatory agencies. Tracey received her MBA from Concordia University; she is a licensed practical nurse; and she is a certified restorative nurse as well as a TeamStepps Master Trainer.
  Joyce Taylor, Iowa State Program Director
Joyce Taylor, RN, CPHQ, is the state program director for the Telligen QIN-QIO team in Iowa. With more than 30 years of experience implementing healthcare quality improvement initiatives, Joyce supervises QIN-QIO initiatives and operations in Iowa and oversees larger cross-state projects.  She received her nursing degree from Des Moines Area Community College and completed her master trainer certification in TeamSTEPPS (Team Strategies and Tools to Enhance Performance and Patient Safety) through Creighton University.  Joyce is a Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality through the National Association for Healthcare Quality.
Christine LaRocca, Medical Director
Christine LaRocca, MD, is the medical director for the Telligen QIN-QIO. A fellowship-trained, board-certified geriatrician, she provides strategic direction, clinical oversight and subject-matter expertise for QIN-QIO initiatives in Colorado, Illinois and Iowa. Christine received her medical degree from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine and completed an internal medicine residency and geriatrics fellowship at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center.


Governing Body

Telligen’s Quality Innovation Network (QIN) governing body plays an integral role in the performance of the work being done for the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) to improve health and promote quality of care for people with Medicare. The QIN governing body sets overall policy and direction for the QIN within Telligen’s corporate policy structure and retains oversight responsibility for the QIN Quality Improvement Organization (QIO) and QIN National Coordinating Center (NCC) programs.

QIN governing body positions are voluntary and members are not compensated for their time, other than reimbursement for travel expenses to in-person meetings. The governing body can include up to 15 members who may serve up to six years (two terms of three years each) of consecutive service. However, exemptions can be made that can extend membership to up to nine years of consecutive service (or three terms). Membership is evaluated on an ongoing basis to identify any competencies that need to be added to the governing body, which causes the membership to fluctuate. Generally, one to two members are added or replaced each year.

Name Affiliation Term Number Term Start Date
Wendy C. Ager Administrator/Senior Director of Skilled Nursing, Western Home Communities, Iowa 1st October 2017
Chinyere U. Alu Division Chief, Patient Safety and Quality, Illinois Department of Public Health 1st October 2017
Mary Jane Carothers Vice President, Iowa Health Care Association & Iowa Center for Assisted Living 2nd November 2018
Patricia Critchfield Beneficiary 2nd January 2018
Dr. Michael Ho Staff Cardiologist, VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System; Professor of Medicine, University of Colorado Denver 2nd January 2018
Dr. Paul Mulhausen Chief Medical Officer, Telligen 2nd January 2018
Julia Ann Pollock Long-Term Care Ombudsman, State of Iowa 1st October 2017
Esther Sciammarella Executive Director, Chicago Hispanic Health Coalition 2nd January 2018